lovenergyoga

Yoga’s little positive side effects

I’ve been practicing on and off for a good 10 years but only recently have made it a bigger part of my life. Without much thought how it would impact other aspects of my life, I just did what felt right. Little did I know, yoga was working its magic. Here’s a little run down.

Music: In my other life, I’m a singer-songwriter. This might seem obvious, but it still surprised me, Yoga strengthened my voice. Of course it makes sense – there’s a lot of working with the core and diaphragm and a lot of breathing exercises. There’s more strength to push the air, more control and a larger lung capacity. All good things for a singer.

Health: Practicing Yoga asana is exercise and detoxifying. My immune system definitely kicks up a notch when I stick to a regular practice and my respiratory issues aren’t as big of deal. Consequently, once you really get into the physical side of yoga, it’s hard not to get into all the “other stuff” – like healthier eating habits and learning to live more clean, in tune with mother nature, which leads me to a second side effect.

Creating my own natural products: This started as a Christmas gift experiment that just kept growing. I started with lip balms and lotions and scrubs and shaving cream. Since I now make my own toothpaste and deodorant (that works better than anything I’ve ever bought). I’ve had more than one person come back to me after sampling a product, wanting more. I’m living healthy and inspiring others to do the same, it’s a great feeling…and a possible business venture. (Trade in your old deodorant! Give me the old dispenser and I’ll refill it with stuff that’s good for you and works! $4. Just contact me)

Photography: This one also seems obvious and yet I didn’t realize it until I experienced it – flexibility and stability increase with Yoga. I suddenly could get lower to the ground without having to lie down and I could keep steady doing so. Even getting into a squat – making sure my elbow were tucked in, pressing against my knees, knees against elbows. I was super strong and steady. It’s amazing how much of a different it makes to engage to body and be able to find strong balance. No, it won’t magically help you take great photos, but it might help you get the awkward shot or take steadier photos without a tripod.

Screen shot 2013-05-07 at 12.08.56 PM
High Park Cherry Blossoms (smartphone photo)

There might be other things I have yet to notice, but for now, I hope this little list will maybe inspire you to see how yoga has made or can make you even better! 🙂

1 thought on “Yoga’s little positive side effects”

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed
    and I hope you write again soon!

Share your thoughts

