Inspirational, lovenergyoga

Life I love you, all is groovy

1859104838_4c713d4d99_zGreat words from Simon And Garfunkel…”Life I love you, all is groovy”. How often can we say that? Even more so, how often can we say that knowing that things aren’t “groovy” and we’re pissed off and sad? How can we still focus on the good in those shitty f*&%ed up situations?

The song starts with “Slow down, you move too fast, you’ve got to make the moment last” – are you? I wasn’t. I spent so much of my life chasing something…anything really. I don’t know if it was a need to achieve or just wanting to feel ‘fulfilled’. Maybe I was, and still am, afraid to see what happens when I don’t chase everything, if I just let go, just be and really feel whatever I’m doing in the moment. It’s so hard but I know deep down if I chase and if I push, life will just keep running away from me. I need to let go of control, take a deep breath and trust the process a little more.

That being said, don’t give up your dreams, don’t just throw your hands up in the air and say “that’s it, I’m leaving it all up to fate now”. I still firmly believe that even though sometimes we need to let go and dance the awkward dance with fate, there is still a destiny that we create through our choices. So it’s a matter of finding balance between working towards something but also letting things happen. I’m trying to be at peace with the latter. Letting myself linger in moments of nothingness – that truly actually are moments of everythingness! You know what I’m talking about! Staying those extra few minutes with a friend, leaving whatever you call your “job” to go for a walk…and not just to get lunch but really take the time to breathe the air, connect with the moment. Just be! We’re always rushing, we’re always pushing and then what? We find that we lost precious time and all we have left is a few memories that we wish we could experience again. I say we make more memories and less moments we want to escape. Find a way to follow your dream and definitely always follow your heart but without sacrificing all the things in your life that you cherish most, because if you don’t pay attention to them, they might disappear. That park by your house might become a new condo ground, that book you’ve always wanted to read might go out of print, that friend you keep meaning to have lunch with might move to another country…and so on. Start now. Truly live.  Feel everything, experience everything…cry, scream, curse, laugh, smile, truly be who you are!  Take a deep breathe and say it with me “Life I love you, all is groovy”.

Share your thoughts

